FAVORITE RESOURCES

Nurseries and Gardening Supplies

 

California Cactus Center   www.cactuscenter.com 

 

Topiary Art Works   www.topiaryartworks.com/sphagmoshanb.html A great source for sphagnum moss                                           hanging baskets

Toadshade Wildflower Farm  http://www.toadshade.com

Endless Summer Flower Farm www.endlesssummerflowerfarm.com  Dahlias

Real Lancaster County https://reallancastercounty.com/markets-2/flowers-gardens/ Nurseries and                                                      greenhouses in Lancaster County, PA  

 

For a list of local native plant nurseries: Native Plant Nurseries

 
Gardens 

 

Philadelphia Gardens   www.americasgardencapital.org  30+ gardens within 30 miles of Philadelphia

 

Chanticleer   www.chanticleergarden.org

Gardening Blogs

 

A Way to Garden by Margaret Roach  http://awaytogarden.com

 

Salvia Guru  salvia.guru

 

Hayefield: A Pennsylvania Plant Geek's Garden by Nancy J. Ondra  http://hayefield.com

 

Dirt Simple: the observations of a landscape designer by Deborah Silver http://www.deborahsilver.com/blog

 

Randi's Blog from Toadshade Wildflower Farm  http://www.toadshade.com/RandiBlog.htm

Journal - Blog for Urban Rewilding A journal from Pistils Nursery in Portland, Oregon

                                                        http://pistilsnursery.com/journal/

My Chicago Botanic Garden: A blog from the Chicago Botanic Garden http://my.chicagobotanic.org

 
Conservation

Land and Water Conservation:

Wissahickon Watershed Valley Association  www.wvwa.org

Stroud Water Research Center  www.stroudcenter.org

CRC Watersheds Association (Chester Ridley Crum)  www.crcwatersheds.org

Chesapeake Bay Foundation www.cbf.org

Delaware River Keeper www.delawareriverkeeper.org

Willistown Conservation Trust   www.wctrust.org

 

Brandywine Conservancy  www.brandywine.org/conservancy

    

Natural Lands Trust (merged with Montgomery County Land Trust)  www.natlands.org

 

Radnor Conservancy  www.radnorconservancy.org

 

Lower Merion Conservancy  www.lmconservancy.org

 

Friends of the Wissahickon  www.fow.org

 

Friends of Schuykill River Park  www.fsrp.org

Conservation Pennsylvania  www.conservepennsylvania.org

 

Audubon Pennsylvania  pa.audubon.org

 

PA Dept of Conservation and Natural Resources (DCNR)  www.dcnr.state.pa.us

Harriton House www.harritonhouse.org

Conservation International www.conservation.org

 

National Park Conservation Association www.npca.org

 

National Environmental Education Foundation NEEF  www.neefusa.org

 

National Resources Conservation Service  www.nrcs.usda.gov

 

TreeVitalize  www.treevitalize.net

 

Ocean Conservancy   www.oceanconservancy.org

Native Plants and Pollinators:

The Xerces Society for Invertebrate Conservation   www.xerces.org

Center for Pollinator Research Penn State Extension  ento.psu.edu

Bowman's Hill Wildflower Preserve  www.bhwp.org

Mt. Cuba Center  www.mtcubacenter.org

Recycling:

Pennsylvania Resource Council www.prc.org

Help Consumers recycle and reduce their daily waste   Earth911.com

Climate Change:

Citizens Climate Lobby  www.citizensclimatelobby.org

C-Change Conversations  www.c-changeconversations.com

Fresh Energy www.fresh-energy.org

Chester County Citizens for Climate Protection  www.chescocooler.org

Other Conservation Resources:

Pennsylvania Horticultural Society  www.phsonline.org

League of Conservation Voters   scorecard.lcv.org

Environmental Working Group www.ewg.org

Philadelphia Parks Alliance www.philaparks.org

 

PennFuture  pennfuture.org

 

Conservation Voters of PA  www.conservationpa.org 

Never Too Late To Learn

All About Earthworms  http://www.improvenet.com/a/beginners-guide-to-earthworms

 

© The Garden Club of Philadelphia